Make a Tea Light Village with Your Silhouette Cameo

Hi everyone! Today I’m going to share with you a winter holiday inspired project made with textured card stock and the help of my Silhouette Cameo.  (Of course!)

I was really tempted to purchase the newest Cameo during Scrapbooks by Design’s Black Friday Sale but I decided to hold off for a bit since there really isn’t anything wrong with my original Cameo.

Anyhow…back to my project…

A friend of mine sent me a link for these super cute 3D Tea light Village cut outs by Marji Roy. She was looking for paper house templates to decorate with her daughter. I just thought the tea lights were a perfect addition to our Christmas decor and wanted to purchase them immediately. Luckily, Silhouette was having a 50% sale during Cyber Monday week so I got a great deal on the files.

Tea light village Christmas Silhouette Project

Make a Christmas Village with Silhouette Cameo

I initially attempted to cut the houses and trees on cheap Recollections card stock from Michaels. BIG mistake. Apparently my Cameo absolutely hates this paper. I tried changing the cut settings but every time I sent my project to the Slhouette, I ended up with a big disaster. The Recollections card stock was either ripped apart by the Cameo blade or sections would be kiss cut or not cut at all. It was very frustrating.

While my Cameo has decided it hates Recollections card stock, it absolutely LOVES the textured card stock by American Crafts. The tea light village files came out beautifully. The cuts were clean.

Paper Tea Light Village made with Silhouette CameoI’m not going to write a tutorial for this project since the file designer already has great instructions on her blog. Be sure to check out her tutorial and head over to the Silhouette online store to purchase the files.

Ashbee Design suggests covering the windows with wax paper. I didn’t have any so I skipped this step. I do however have a bunch of the battery operated candles and they light up the houses quite nicely.

Christmas Village Silhouette Cameo Project

Tea light village made with Silhouette CameoThe holiday season is a busy time for most but the Cameo makes Christmas decorating easy. The tea light village is just one of many different seasonal things you can make for your home.

Files used for my tea light village:

Need supplies and tools to make your own holiday village? Check out everything you need at Scrapbooks by Design!

I hope everyone has a wonderful, crafty holiday season!

Until next time…Happy Crafting!

Leave a Reply

