“Just Because” Mini Note Cards

Today I am excited to show you what I have been working on for the last few weeks. This project was inspired by these Lunch Box Notes featured in the Silhouette America Blog.

I decided to make my own set of print and cut mini note cards aka “lunch box” notes using graphics and digital paper from Lettering Delights. I love using the print and cut feature on my Cameo to create stationary, stickers and cards etc. If you enjoy using the print and cut feature, be sure to visit Under a Cherry Tree for even more ideas and inspiration. If you are already a fan of Jin’s blog, you’ll recognize the mommy and me graphics that I used for my mini notes.

mini note cards silhouette cameo project

lunch box notes by inspirednest.ca

Ready to make your own mini notes? Here’s the how to…

How to Design Your Own Mini Notes with Silhouette Studio

Tools & Materials

  • Silhouette Cameo (or Portrait)
  • Silhouette Studio
  • White Card Stock
  • Lettering Delights (LD) Mommy and Me Paper
  • LD Mommy and Me Graphics Set

Page Settings

  • 8.5″ x 11″
  • Registration Marks On

1. Start by drawing a rounded 3.5″ x 2″ rectangle (standard business card)

Lunch Box Cards/Mini Notes

2. Fill the rectangle with a pattern (Mommy and Me Paper).Silhouette Cameo Project Mini Notes

3. Create an internal offset of 0.2″ and fill the new internal rectangle with white. lunch box notes/mini cards made with Silhouette Cameo

4. Add graphics as desired. I used items from the LD Mommy and Me set. Be sure to set the thickness of any lines you want printed. For example, I wanted to create a thin border around the white rectangle so I changed the line colour to match the bunny graphic’s brown eyes. I also changed the line thickness to 0.005″. Repeat this process for the offset around the graphic.

Mini Note Cards - A Silhouette Cameo Project

5. Arrange your mini notes on the mat for print and cut.

mini note card stationary set

Lunch box notes by inspirednest.caHow to Make Matching Mini Envelopes

Tools & Materials

  • Silhoeutte Cameo (or Portrait)
  • Silhouette Studio
  • Premium Inkjet paper
  • Lettering Delights (LD) Mommy and Me Paper

Page Settings

  • 8.5″ x 11″
  • Registration Marks On

For the matching envelopes I used the same flower mini note set file featured in the Silhouette America Blog.

1. Open the flower mini note set file. Ungroup the items, then copy and paste the mini envelope onto a new project file.

2. Fill the envelope with a pattern.

minienvelopes

As you can see in the screen shot, I tried to fit two mini envelopes per page. Unfortunately part of the envelope is outside the print box. I don’t like wasting paper and it’s more efficient to print and cut two envelopes at a time. If you turn off the print box and registration marks the project can still be printed and cut but the level of accuracy will not be the same as using the registration marks. (Although sometimes I use the registration marks and the cuts don’t match up perfectly with the printed item either.)

I made a few envelopes using the the registration marks (one per page) and a few without. You can see in the photos the cut isn’t perfect. There is a little bit of white paper showing at the edge.

3. Print and cut. I printed my envelopes on 28lb premium inkjet paper using Silhouette’s copy paper cut settings. The envelopes were cut beautifully.

mini envelope for lunch box cards

The envelopes featured in the Silhouette Blog were closed with washi tape. I thought that was a neat idea. I don’t own any washi tape (gasp, I know!) so I decided to make custom stickers to use as envelope seals. The tutorial/instructions will be posted on my blog.

minicardspic6

I’m looking forward to using my custom mini notes. I know my kids will love the stationary. They’ve been watching me work on this project and are anxious to know what I’ll be using the note cards for!

mini notes by inspirednest.ca

Have fun making your own mini notecards/lunch box notes!

Until next time…happy crafting!

4 responses to ““Just Because” Mini Note Cards

  1. Pingback: Silhouette Cameo Tutorial: Make Your Own Mini Note cards and Envelopes·

Leave a Reply

