Make Your Own Stencil

Hi everyone!  Meghan here to show you how to create your own stencil.  Take a file from the Silhouette Store, your download card, some stencil material and your favourite ink [I used Mustard Seed Distress Ink] and you’ve got a stencil you can use over and over again to create so many different cards.  I downloaded this file and created a stencil.  I always like to do a double cut to be sure that the stencil cuts completely.  This doesn’t hurt your mat at all!

Here is my first card using my new stencil:

Make Your Own Stencil

I like to adhere my card front to my work surface with respositionable adhesive.  Then adhere your stencil to your card front with washi tape.  Use a make-up sponge, a sponge dauber or a Ranger Ink Blending Tool and Foam to spread ink in the opening portions of your stencil. I used a heavier hand in when starting on the center portion and then went lighter as I blended the ink.  I love the way the ink pools near the center of the sunburst without any extra effort on my part!  I downloaded this seriously adorable swim suit clothesline and cut the swim suits out of different Hello Sunshine papers.  I used the Hello Sunshine stamp set for the clothesline and the stars, hearts and sentiment.  I matted the finished card front on some coordinating card stock like this.  Then I adhered the entire card front to a card base and you’re done!  Easy peasy!

Here is a second card I made with the stencil:

Stencil Card #2

I created the sunburst the same way as I did with the first card but used a speech bubble from Chit Chat popped up on foam squares to create a totally different tone for this card.  One stencil, two or [probably so many] more uses!  If you want to check out more stencil files in the Silhouette Store go here.

 

Leave a Reply

