Yet Another Silhouette Project: DIY Cupcake Wrappers

If you are hesitant about investing in a digital die cutter such as the Silhouette Cameo, here is another project that may convince you of how handy this crafting machine really is.

DIY Cupcake wrappers made with patterned scrapbooking paper!

Silhouette Cameo Cupcake Wrappers

I have been wanting to bake cupcakes for so long just to be able to try making a cupcake wrapper with my Cameo.  As soon as I finished piping the icing, I headed to my craft room to whipped up some wrappers for my treats.

cupcakes

cupcakes3

Oops, I made the yellow wrapper a bit too tight so there was some mashed icing.

This is truly a project for cameo beginners. It’s so simple and easy to do but when someone asks you where you bought your cute cupcake wrappers, you can smugly answer – I made them myself! Not that it really matters because these wrappers were chucked right into the compost bin as my kids devoured their cupcakes. (Actually two of them just ate the lemon buttercream icing!)

Cut Your Own Cupcake Wrappers with Silhouette Cameo or Portrait

Tools & Materials

1.Start your project with 12″ x 12″ or 8.5″ x 11″ paper settings. Open the cupcake wrapper file. The first thing you need to do is to highlight the entire cupcake wrapper and group the layers together.  Now you can move or resize the wrapper easily without leaving any elements behind.

2. Position the wrapper/s to your liking.

3. Send to Silhouette for cutting. My Silhouette blade is a bit dull so I checked the double cut feature.

4. Remove the wrapper from the mat and join together with adhesive.

That’s it. Soooooooo easy! As always, the hardest part about this project (other than preparing all the cupcakes) is picking out the pretty paper. Scrapbooks by Design has so many cute, fun and beautiful papers to choose from.  Here are a few kits I recommend for making cupcake wrappers:

Can you tell I like paper? This wrapper was made with paper from the Springtime kit by Doodlebug.

Vanilla Cupcakes with Lemon Butter Cream & DIY WrappersAnother day, another project and another reason why I think a digital die cutter is a must have for every crafter.

Until next time…happy crafting!

Leave a Reply

