Shaker Card

Happy Spring!  I hope wherever you are that the weather is cooperating!

Ampersands are really trendy right now!  I thought I’d share a fun card style with you today using an ampersand that is actually so much easier to create than it looks!  Here is my card:

IMG_5643

I created an large ampersand using the font Century Schoolbook in my Silhouette Studio Designer Edition.  I used the “fill page” option in the Object > Replicate menu option.  After cutting them out on my Portrait, I rough cut a piece of acetate to fit behind the largest part of the ampersand and adhered it behind the opening of one of the die cuts.  Then I stacked 5 together using Tombow Mono liquid glue so they wouldn’t come apart.

Now for the fun part.  Scrapbooks by Design has the perfect die set to create confetti:  Lawn Fawn’s Stitched Journaling Card die.  [Too bad I didn’t think of it until after I had created my card.  I used a heart punch I had on hand.]  The tiny hearts and stars are so perfect to create confetti for this project!  Lay your hearts on your card base.  Add more liquid glue to the back of the ampersand element and carefully place it over the top of your confetti.  Allow everything to dry and then stamp your sentiment.  I used Milo’s ABCs from Lawn Fawn.

One of my daughter’s friends from high school just became engaged to her long time boyfriend and this card will work perfectly for her wedding gift!

It would be fun to try ampersands from other fonts.  Try this with a font that you already have installed.  There are probably many other shapes that would work well with this shaker card technique and I hope to have a few more in future posts.

I hope you give this shaker card technique a try!

Leave a Reply

