Printable Gold Foil

Hi everyone!  It’s Meghan here to show you a fun way to use the Silhouette Gold Foil sheets from the store.  When I first heard about  Silhouette die cutting machines I thought they were only for scrapbookers.  Well, they most definitely are not!  I bought the Silhouette Portrait from the store and absolutely love it!  I used it every single day.  I purchase files from the Silhouette store and I often create my own.  There are so many tutorials on YouTube that I don’t need to take a class, I just search for the topic I want to know more about and watch someone instruct me on the technique!

Here is a set of three cards I made using the foil and some Lawn Fawn stamps available in the store as well:

Hello Cards

The gold foil is hard to capture in a photo but in real life it is so shiny!

The cards are 3″ x 4″ and you can get 3 of these cards from a single sheet of card stock.  Simply trim a half inch from the 8 1/2″ side and then trim 3 sections 4″ wide.  You’ll have a small strip left over which you can save for another project.  You’ll have three 3″ x 8″ pieces of card stock.  Score down the middle at 4 inches and crease.

I created a cut file with the word hello using the Minya Nouvelle font.  Once I typed it into a new .studio file, I ungrouped it, moved the letters so they were touching, grouped it again, then welded it together.  Then you can re-size, stretch, whatever like with the word!  Unfortunately, WordPress won’t let me upload my .studio file for you but I created a PDF of it here for you and a short tutorial on how to covert it back to a .studio file.  Download my tutorial here.

Here is what my 4 cut images looked like after I cut them:

IMG_5469

Again, the gold just doesn’t photograph well.  It is kind of like trying to get a clear picture of a clear object!  You can see that I use every scrap of my gold foil.  I try not to waste any if I can!

As for the images, they were simply stamped, coloured with alcohol markers, and trimmed.  I didn’t use the matching dies this time but you could if you wanted to.  I stamped the image on the card and then adhered my coloured and trimmed image over it with foam adhesive.  It makes it look more finished when you do this.  Also, the fox image had an eyelash that I couldn’t cut out so by stamping it behind the coloured image, the eyelash is still visible.

Here are the items I used from the store:

I love to make clean and simple cards like these to give to those amazing people in my life who I am so thankful for!

I hope you give the Printable Gold Foil a try!

Leave a Reply

