Happy Birthday A2 Step Card

I’m not a scrapbooker or avid card maker. I like paper crafts but it’s not my forte. Despite all this, I have managed to use my Silhouette Cameo frequently.

One of the things I love about Silhouette is the online store for digital cutting files.  My favourite artist at the moment is Lori Whitlock.

Whenever I need to make a card or gift card holder I just head over the Silhouette Online store and browse through Lori’s portfolio. The files are inexpensive and if you are a frequent shopper then you would benefit from a monthly subscription. You can also purchase download cards in various denominations from Scrapbooks by Design.

I wanted to make an easy birthday card for my niece so I settled on this A2 Step Card design. Here is my interpretation:

Lori Whitlock A2 Step Birthday Card ProjectAt first I wanted to do a pretty pink sketch of the cake but of course all my pink pens were dried out. I settled for metallic silver and I like the way it turned out.

birthdaycard3

If you love paper then you might recognize the patterned paper from Echo Park’s Here and Now Collection (and the design happens to be by Lori Whitlock!).

Although this card looks simple, it’s not the quickest one to make and put together. You need to ungroup all the elements and arrange them for sketching and cutting. Once you have all the elements together, it’s just a matter of glueing and finally folding the card. If you get stuck on how to fold the step card, head over to Lori Whitlock’s blog for video instructions.

birthdaycard1

I have no idea how to put together a nice card on my own and that is why the Silhouette Cameo and the Online Store are so great – they can help you  go from being absolutely clueless to a paper crafting extraordinaire!

Until next time…happy crafting!

3 responses to “Happy Birthday A2 Step Card

  1. Pingback: Happy Birthday A2 Step Card | Live, Love, Laugh...·

Leave a Reply

