2014 CD Case Calendar

Happy New Year [even though it is already near the end of January]!

I love calendars!  Every year I create monthly sheets for a calendar that fits into an empty CD case.  I bought some new ones at an office supply store but you can definitely re-purpose an old CD case by taking the CD out and the black spindle layer out [carefully].  Then you can remove the paper inserts and you now have a case for your calendar.

January CD Case

January CD Case

Now, of course, this is for the current month.  Don’t worry, though, I created one for February as well using supplies that you can purchase at the store and some other items you may have in your stash.

February CD Calendar Page

I used several Lawn Fawn stamps and die sets for these two calendar pages:  Winter Owl Stamps and die.  And Winter Sparrows Stamps and dies.  I coloured the images with Copic markers but I know that Spectrum Noir markers work just as well!

I also used my new favourite friend my Silhouette Portrait to cut some letters.  I used the font Cheri and the offset feature in the Silhouette Design Studio software.  It’s super easy.  I found a photo tutorial here if you want to learn how it’s done.  You can probably see that I resized the February title to be quite a bit bigger.  Since I wasn’t including the 2014 numbers I had the room!

In order to make the case stand up correctly, you will need to look at your CD case.  With the hinge on the left you will notice that one side is slightly bigger than the other.  Separate the two pieces carefully and re-attach them with the back side towards you so that the rim is facing up and the front side is the same is facing up as well.  This gives you two little trays to place your current and upcoming months into.  Take a close look at my photo and you should see how I did it.

CD Calendar Case Hinge

I tried repeatedly to get a clear picture from the side so you could see how I attached the sides but wasn’t able to [I think it must be because the CD case was clear…believe me I tried with all three of my lenses].  This was the best I could do!

I have included a link to a pdf with the first four months already created for you.  Just trim the rectangles just inside the “super-light grey” lines [or to 4 3/8″ x 5 3/8″] and then decorate!

Leave a Reply

