Happy 2014!

Happy Holidays!

Now that Christmas is behind us and we are all exhausted after scooping up all of those Boxing Day bargains, it’s time to think about the next holiday:  New Years!

I wanted to create a New Years card, but didn’t have a layout in mind so I went to Pinterest and searched for “New Years card.”  This image came up.

I used a couple of different [to me] techniques for this card.  Firstly, I made a longer card.  Then, I substituted an object for the zero!

Happy 2014

I used the fun pocket watch die from Cherry Lynn Designs.  If this die isn’t in stock, there are so many other alternatives for holiday cards.  Try this clock, or this snowflake for the letter “O” or a zero.  Or you could try this Christmas Tree or this one for an A in the word Happy.

I cut the numbers with my Silhouette Portrait using the font Times New Roman and resized them to 2 1/2″ tall.  I didn’t have any of this printable silver foil paper so I used some other silver card stock I had on hand.  The adhesive silver foil paper would have been so nice to have!  Adhering the numbers would have been so much easier!

Lastly, I wanted a simple background that simulated confetti thrown at midnight.  Kind of like Bokeh!  I used the back of a circular stamp and some chalk inks and stamped several generations of the circles in each of three colours on the card front.  It was so much fun and so liberating to just randomly stamp!

Next I used my envelope punch board to create a custom envelope for my longer card:

Happy New Year envelope

I used Lawn Fawn’s Tag You’re It dies, Winter Gifts stamps and Winter Sparrows stamps and dies to add a tag to the front.  A few sequins from the Peace, Love, Joy Mixed Sequins from Lawn Fawn and a bow tied with ribbon from my stash added a final touch.  I used Lawn Fawn’s Sally’s ABCs to customize my sentiment!

Happy New Year to all!

Leave a Reply

