Give Your Best Goodies in These Custom Made Treat Bags

Happy New Year Everyone!

Another holiday season has come and gone.

Every year I try to bake goodies for friends and family. I normally make a huge variety and pack it all in tins. This year I decided to stick with two sweets – Almond Brittle and Homemade Marshmallows. Instead of buying cookie tins, I made treat bags with the help of my handy dandy Silhouette Cameo.

Silhouette Cameo Treat Box Project

Holiday  Treat Boxes made with Silhouette CameoDo you recognize the file I used for my holiday project? Yup, this is the same Lori Whitlock Tall 3D Treat bag I used for Halloween. I have definitely gotten my money’s worth on this file!

Do you want to make your own custom treat boxes?

Here are the details you need to get started!

Make Your Own Custom Treat Bags with Silhouette Cameo

Tools & Materials

Start by opening Silhouette Studio. Open a new project using a 12 x 12 mat. Go to my library and choose the Lori Whitlock 3D Tall Treat Bag file.

Load the patterned paper and mat into the Silhouette Cameo. Now send your file to the Silhouette Cameo for cutting. Unload the mat and remove your treat bag cut out from the mat. Assemble the bag and embellish as you like!

The first set of treat bags are made with patterned paper from the Heidi Swapp Believe paper pad (sorry, sold out at Scrapbooks by Design). This was my go to holiday project paper. I love the weight and quality of the patterned paper. The best part is all the patterns and colours coordinate with each so putting together a nice looking treat bag is super easy. I used the journalling cards from the paper pad (is that what they are called? I’m not a scrap booker) as generic labels for my boxes.

Treat Bags with with Silhouette Cameo and Heidi Swapp paper

The second set of bags are made with Recollections card stock from Michaels. The paper pad was 60% off just before Christmas. Great price but the quality is only meh. It has a nice linen texture but it is not as heavy as the patterned paper from the Heidi Swapp pad. I dressed this set of bags up with print and cut labels made with Silhouette Printable Cotton Canvas.

Silhouette Cameo Treat Box ProjectTo ensure your print and cut labels will fit onto the treat bags you can open the file and resize it within the treat bag file. If you are satisfied with the size of your label you can move it over into a new project mat for printing and cutting.

Once again, the Silhouette Cameo proves to be a solid investment for crafting. I made a lot of these treat bags for the holidays. About 15 in total! I actually made several bags ahead of time so I could quickly fill one up with almond brittle if and when a guest dropped by for a surprise visit.

So now you know my trade secret for surviving the holiday rush. Simple treat bags filled with easy to make goodies = great gifts for friends, family and  hosts!

Until next time…Happy New Year and Happy Crafting!!!

One response to “Give Your Best Goodies in These Custom Made Treat Bags

Leave a Reply

