Using heat transfer material

I had been wanting the silhouette for ever, imagining all the amazing things I could and would do with it. I finally purchased my portrait after a ton of research deciding between the portrait and cameo. I finally snagged one during a sale in the summer from Scrapbooks by design.  I couldn’t wait to get to work trying new stuff you could do all by yourself, that still amazes me.

For this tutorial I will show you how to use the heat transfer material to make a t-shirt.

First I used a digital stamp I had purchased, you can go that route or purchase a cut file from the silhouette store.

In the studio software I sized it to the size I wanted, mirrored it & used the trace feature.

tshirttut1

I sent it through my silhouette portrait at the recommended settings when you select  Heat transfer material (flocked)

Speed was 5 thickness 33 and blade 3

When it was done cutting it didn’t look cut to me and I thought maybe my blade was dull but When I used my hook to thread out the pieces they all came out wonderfully. I highly recommend the silhouette hook for threading out the pieces it took me maybe 5 minutes to do this whole piece.

tshirttut2

Once your done weeding all the pieces out and your design is perfect. Put the design on whatever your putting it on. In this case a t-shirt for my daughter, plastic side up so it reads correctly. tshirttut3Iron it with a piece of material between the iron and the shirt. I just used a towel. It says for 50-60 seconds but it took me much longer. You can keep checking and if it pulls up with the plastic keep ironing until it stays down. It took my a good 5 minutes I would guess but I didn’t keep the iron in the same place for more that 60 seconds because I was scared of it burning.

tshirttut4

Pull the plastic up and enjoy your new creation. You can also see how plush the flocked heat transfer is. I can’t wait to make more stuff!

tshirttut5

tshirttut6

Supply list:

Silhouette: Cameo or Portrait

Silhouette Hook

Heat Transfer material (I used flocked white)

Iron

3 responses to “Using heat transfer material

    • Hi Leigha,
      So glad you liked it. I bought it from studio calico but it was only available for one month. I would love to see what you create if you make a project of your own. It’s so much fun!

    • Hi Leigha 🙂
      Thanks for the comments. I bought the stamp from studio calico in feb I believe. It was only available for that month though. I would love to see what you create if you try the heat transfer material. It’s so fun and addicting!!

Leave a Reply

