Fall Paper Bag Mini Album

The ubiquitous paper bag has a new life!  It used to carry our lunch but it is so much more than a transporter of a peanut butter and jelly sandwich!  You can make a small, fun mini album with it!

Beware…this is a photo-heavy post!  If you want to watch a video to see the construction of a paper bag album, go to YouTube and search for paper bag albums.  You’ll get a fairly large selection!

Here is the completed cover of my mini album:

Image

Here are the details in case you want to create your own!

Start with a few supplies from the store.  I used the Happy Harvest Essentials Page kit from Doodlebug.  Gather a scalloped edge punch like this one.  I challenged myself to use just the papers and embellishments in the page kit.  It was actually quite liberating not to have to search all over for coordinating bits and pieces!

Fold your paper bag like this:

Paper Bag 1

Measure the front of the folded bag.  Mine was 5 ¼” square approximately.  I went with this number leaving a tiny border from the bag.  Trim a square of patterned paper this size and adhere to the front of the bag.

Trim a strip of patterned paper 2 ½” long by 6 ½”.  Use a medium scalloped punch to decorate one edge.  Adhere this to the folded edge of your folded paper bag album.   Punch a similar border with a smaller scalloped punch for the opposite edge.

I noticed that the patterned paper was just too busy to allow the stickers to show up properly.  So my fix was to trim a piece of vellum to place the stickers on.  My vellum was 5” x 3 ½”.  Adhere some stickers right to vellum others with foam tape.  Adhere to front cover of album using adhesive behind the stickers only so it doesn’t show through the vellum.  I used liquid glue so that I could be sure it would stay in place.

For the inside:

Trim papers that are slightly larger than the measurement of your bag.  Mine were trimmed slightly larger than the actual size of 5 ¼” square.  Place adhesive on the paper bag portion and then place your paper on top.  Paper bags are not made perfectly just like people.  Trimming off the excess allows you to work with the particular character of your bag.  Your album will have two pockets:  one where the top of the bag is and one where the bottom is adhered shut.  You can sew or staple several paper bags to create a multi-page album.

I used different papers for the bag bottom portion that creates the pocket so that the reader would be able to see that there was indeed a pocket.

Paper Bag 2

Add some adhesive on the top and bottom inside edges of your pocket.  This gives you an actual pocket.  You can leave it un-adhered as well if you want to use it as a flap.

The inside is definitely very busy but I’m okay with that.  You can use less busy papers if you wish.  Since was I challenging myself to use only the papers and embellishments that were included in the package I had to use what I had!

Here is the inside:

Add patterned paper

This photo is before I embellished!

I set about to use some of the stickers from the Happy Harvest This & That Sheet that is included in the kit.  I created some journaling cards to tuck into the front pocket created from the top of the bag:

The pocket

Here are the journalling cards:

Journaling Tags

I used 3/8″ Glue Dots to adhere the buttons to the ends so that will be noticed by the reader as they stick out beyond the front pocket edge.  [Refer back to my original picture of the finished album to see the buttons sticking out.]

I embellished the inside only on the front of the bottom flap pocket:

Embellishments

You can tuck photos that you mat on card stock into the pocket or more journalling cards or whatever you want into this sweet little pocket.  You need to be aware that your items will need to be sized so as not to interfere with the centre fold line!  On the left side of the open album, you can one or more of your favourite fall pictures and embellish further with more stickers from the This & That sheet.

It’s fun to embellish the back too:

The cover

You can see that I used the same type of binding for the right side of the album [the left side as you look at this photo].

I hope that I have inspired you to create your own paper bag album!  You could use Doodlebug’s Halloween Parade Essentials Page kit to save some fun Halloween memories!  I have enough supplies left to create a few Autumn-themed cards which I will share on my next post!

One response to “Fall Paper Bag Mini Album

  1. Pingback: The Writing Road | 11hauz's Blog·

Leave a Reply

