Mini Chipboard Pocket Album

Hello again! Where did the time go? It feels like only yesterday I was here posting about personalizing my DIY pouf. Well, I’m back and I have something new to show you. I must warn you…I had something completely different in mind when I started working on my latest Silhouette Project.

Lori Whitlock Mini Album Silhouette Cameo Project

I was really inspired by this cute “Say What” book I saw over at the Silhouette Blog. I wanted to make my own counting book but I was suffering from “creator’s block”. Somehow, my counting book became a mini photo album.

Lori Whitlock Mini Album Echo Park Here and Now

I love making 3D paper crafts with my Silhouette Cameo!  I find it fascinating how all the pieces fit together, even when the project is something simple like a box or photo album. For this project, I used Lori Whitlock’s Mini Chipboard Album file from the Silhouette Online Store.

Don’t be intimidated by all the pieces in the file. The mini album is actually really easy (and fun) to put together. To help you out, here is the video tutorial from Lori Whitlock’s youTube channel:

My favourite part about working on this project was choosing the paper. I wanted all the pages to look good together so I chose a paper kit from Scrapbooks by Design. I really like the colours, patterns and embellishments of the Echo Park Here and Now collection (which also happens to be a Lori Whitlock design).

Echo Park Here and Now Paper/Lori Whitlock Mini Album Project

I was able to use the Here and Now paper for the pocket cards and the pocket pages. I also cut extra album cover pieces with the patterned paper and glued it on top of the chipboard pieces. Speaking of chipboard…this was my first time cutting the Silhouette brand chipboard with my machine. It cuts beautifully (but I do recommend using a fresh blade or at least a newer blade).

Before I show you close ups of my Mini Photo Album, I need to remind you that scrapbooking is not my forte! Ironic isn’t it seeing as I’m writing a post for Scrapbooks by Design. Here is a shot of the first page with the pocket card sliding out:

Mini Pocket Album Silhouette Cameo Project

This is what the pocket card looks like once you pull it out of the sleeve.

Lori Whitlock Mini Chipboard Album Silhouette Project

The pocket cards are double sided (made with two pieces of patterned paper and a thin piece of card stock in-between. Yes, it is super sturdy.).

Silhouette Cameo Project - Mini Chipboard Album

Although I’m not a regular scrap booker, I did enjoy putting together the 3D project and adding photos to my album. I think the Lori Whitlock 3D file is actually pretty versatile. You don’t have to use it as a photo album. It is a great foundation for making your own books like the “Say What” project shown at the Silhouette blog. You could also fill it will your top 5 favourite recipe cards to pass on to the hostess at a party. Maybe I will make that my next project!

If you want to make your own mini chipboard pocket album you will need the following supplies/materials:

Have fun and until next time…Happy Crafting!!!

Leave a Reply

